Delicious Monster – Joie de Vivre

Delicious Monster were a female-fronted Birmingham-based indie/rock band, active from 1990 until 1995. The band released five EPs (‘Dull, Dull, Dull’, ‘Power Missy’, ‘Snuggle’, ‘Ripped’ and ‘Big Love’) and one LP (‘Joie De Vivre’).

Members were: Rachel Mayfield (vocals, guitar), Mark Joseph Stokes (guitar), Ian ‘Huck’ Whitney (bass) and Stephen Thorne (drums, piano).

The single ‘Power Missy’ was named as single of the week by both NME and Melody Maker magazines.

The band were championed by BBC Radio luminaries John Peel and Mark Radcliffe and toured extensively with bands such as Suede, The Boo Radleys (both of whom named Delicious Monster as their favourite up-and-coming band), Belly, Dodgy and The Cranberries. Delicious Monster split in 1995.

Iron Man Records is pleased to be working with Rachel Mayfield to make these Delicious Monster recordings available again.